The Next Big Thing: A. Vitale

Anna Vitale (Steevie Sigmond Freud Nics) got tagged by Jan St Eustache for The Next Big Thing, and I was able to track down A. Vitale and ask her to conduct this interview. Thanks Monsieur Jan St Eustache. It’s hard not to like being tagged.

What is the working title of the book?
Different Worlds

Where did the idea come from for the book?
Like a lot of people, I think a lot about what’s being made under the large umbrella of conceptual writing. I’m not certain of my relationship to its explosive energy, its attempts to break things, but I’m really attracted to it. In fact, it frightens me. So, specifically, Holly Melgard’s writing. Different Worlds is after her Poems for Baby Trilogy. I keep asking myself, how do I relate to this work? Do I try to top these cats? [Cue: Top That, the not-so-fabulous rap song in the excellent movie "Teen Witch."] Do I walk around the edge and watch blood squirt from the ring? I think there is something bloody about conceptual writing. Not literally, but almost. I’m also OK to admit that my view is skewed. That I look for blood where there is none.

What genre does your book fall under?
Baby book, picture book, love book, hate: poetry.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?
Sylvia Plath would be Black Mountain. Charles Olson would be Colorless Sphere. Who else shows up in this book? Blue Sea would be played by Emily Dickinson. Red Star would be my mother; the first communist who ever laid eyes on me. And there’s one more, Jade Clay or something like that. I think that’d be my second really important boyfriend, whose name sounds like Jade.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?
It’s a different woooorld than where you come from!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?
Over my winter break, but I was fucking around with the ideas for longer.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
Holly’s interest in infants and shapes, which I knew I always had, but didn’t realize what form it could take.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
This is for Pascal who is one person who’s taught me a lot about living and loving in different worlds. And by that I mean world as human/object. Also, I had a great time making lists of synonyms and using Adobe Illustrator.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I aspire to start a press called Love & Limits; it’s going to be published by them, but as of today it’s available online, on this very website.

I’d like to tag Brad Flis, Holly Melgard, Laura Wetherington, and Brandon Brown. Have you guys done this already? Hop to it! I compel thee!

One Trackback

  1. By The Next Big Thing | Laura Wetherington on March 4, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    [...] to April Ossmann (hosted by Alice B. Foley) & Anna Vitale for the tag. Great to hear what these smart, talented women are working [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

